Waymo opens robotaxi rides in Denver, San Diego and Tampa, reaching 14 cities
Waymo said on 1 September 2026 that it is welcoming its first public riders in Denver, San Diego and Tampa, bringing its fully autonomous service to 14 cities.
By Emre AlemdarPublished
Tech AI LatestWaymo announced on 1 September 2026 that it has started welcoming its first public riders in Denver, San Diego and Tampa. With these launches, Waymo says it offers fully autonomous rides in 14 cities. Tens of thousands of people in each city had signed up or shown interest, and access will widen over time through the Waymo app. Service area sizes, fleet numbers and prices are not stated.
Key facts
- Announced: 1 September 2026 (Waymo blog)
- New cities: Denver, San Diego and Tampa; total of 14 cities with fully autonomous rides
- Demand: tens of thousands of sign-ups or expressions of interest in each city
- Access: through the Waymo app, with riders admitted in stages
- Safety claim: 94% fewer serious-injury-or-worse crashes than human drivers, Waymo says
- Not stated: service area sizes, fleet size, prices, airport or freeway access
What Waymo announced
Waymo said on 1 September 2026 that it is starting to welcome its first public riders in Denver, San Diego and Tampa. With these launches Waymo says it provides fully autonomous rides in 14 cities. Tens of thousands of people in each of the three cities had signed up or expressed interest, and Waymo plans to give more riders access over time until the service is open to everyone.
To ride, people download the Waymo app and sign up, and Waymo notifies them by email and app notification when it is their turn. Before launch, Waymo says it validated the Waymo Driver on local streets and worked with first responders and local officials. The service areas were designed to cover places people need or want to go, but their size is not stated in the announcement.
Local reaction and safety claims
The post quotes Colorado governor Jared Polis, Tampa mayor Jane Castor, AARP Florida and the San Diego chapter of the National Federation of the Blind, alongside Waymo chief marketing officer Suzanne Philion. Waymo repeats its safety claim that the Waymo Driver is involved in 94% fewer crashes causing serious injury or worse than human drivers over the same distance. That figure is Waymo's own analysis. Laura Streed of AARP Florida says Waymo "will be another great option for older adults", and Julia Cardenas of the National Federation of the Blind in San Diego points to the freedom of getting into a car without a driver. Both groups present the service as an option for people who do not drive.
Tampa is Waymo's third Florida city after Miami and Orlando, which opened to everyone in April 2026. The post does not say whether rides in the new cities include airports or freeways, how many vehicles are in each fleet, or what rides cost.
What changed for robotaxi competition
Three cities in one announcement shows how Waymo now expands: validation on local streets, a waitlist, and a gradual opening. The staged access matters when comparing city counts. A city counts as served when the first public riders take trips, not when anyone can book a ride. Waymo's international plans moved in the following weeks, including Madrid.
What to watch next
The next steps are full public access in each city and any expansion of the service areas, along with Denver's first winter of service. Waymo also welcomed its first Las Vegas riders and announced a 2027 Tokyo launch with Nihon Kotsu and GO on 14 September. More autonomous vehicle stories are under Robotics & Physical AI.
What changed
| Before | Waymo offered fully autonomous rides in other US cities; Denver, San Diego and Tampa had waitlists but no public riders |
|---|---|
| After | First public riders are taking Waymo trips in Denver, San Diego and Tampa, for a total of 14 cities |
| Who it affects | Riders on the waitlists in the three cities, local ride-hailing and taxi operators, and city transport agencies |
Questions people ask
- Can anyone ride Waymo in Denver, San Diego or Tampa?
- Not yet. Waymo is admitting riders in stages through its app and says it will give more people access over time, working towards opening to everyone.
- How many cities does Waymo operate in?
- Waymo says it provides fully autonomous rides in 14 cities after the 1 September 2026 launches in Denver, San Diego and Tampa.
- How much does a Waymo ride cost in these cities?
- Prices are not stated in the announcement.
Sources
- Welcoming our first riders in Denver, San Diego, and Tampa (Waymo, 1 Sep 2026)
- Florida's New Way to Ride: Waymo Opens to Everyone in Miami and Orlando (Waymo, 15 Apr 2026)
- Vegas, Deal Us In! We're welcoming riders today (Waymo, 14 Sep 2026)
- Opening our doors to Tokyo riders in 2027 with Nihon Kotsu and GO (Waymo, 14 Sep 2026)
Reference pages
- Waymo company
Spotted an error? See the corrections policy and tell the editor. Facts in this story come from the sources listed above; vendor claims are attributed.
Comments
Loading comments.





