TechAILatest.newsTrackers
AI Policy & Regulation

UK Budget sets out a £700M AI package with £120M more for the AI Security Institute

The UK Budget on 28 October 2026 sets out a £700M AI package: £120M more for the AI Security Institute, £140M for sovereign AI and a Data Centre Covenant.

By Berkant A.Published

The white stone Government Offices Great George Street building in Westminster, home to HM Treasury, under a clear blue sky.Tech AI Latest
HM Treasury, based in the Government Offices Great George Street in Westminster, published the Budget's £700 million AI package on 28 October 2026. Photo: bryansjs on Flickr, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Chancellor John Healey's Budget, delivered on 28 October 2026, includes what HM Treasury calls the government's most ambitious AI package yet, worth £700 million. It gives the AI Security Institute an extra £120 million, funds a £40 million national capability to respond to agentic AI security incidents, adds £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit and sets up a Data Centre Covenant that trades grid connections for community, energy and security tests.

Key facts

  • Announced: 28 October 2026 in the Budget speech and HM Treasury's Budget release
  • Total AI package: £700 million, according to HM Treasury
  • AI Security Institute: additional £120 million; agentic security incident capability: £40 million
  • Sovereign AI Unit: additional £140 million; local AI adoption pilots in Yorkshire: £30 million
  • Data Centre Covenant: strategic projects must meet tests on community investment, energy costs, British jobs and national security
  • Not stated: the year-by-year profile of the spending and the covenant's legal form

What the Budget announced

Chancellor John Healey presented his first Budget to the House of Commons on 28 October 2026. In the Budget speech he said AI security would get an extra half a billion pounds and the Sovereign AI Unit another £140 million. HM Treasury's Budget release puts the full AI package at £700 million and calls it the government's most ambitious AI package yet.

On security, the release lists an additional £120 million for the AI Security Institute and £40 million for what it calls a world-first national capability to investigate and respond to agentic security incidents. It also mentions money for institutions and infrastructure to strengthen resilience against cyber and biological threats, and further funding for the AI Economics Institute to study effects on jobs, productivity and living standards. Those last amounts are not stated in the release.

Sovereign AI and the Data Centre Covenant

The extra £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit is meant to help promising UK AI companies scale and keep a meaningful presence in Britain. A further £30 million will pilot local AI adoption partnerships, starting with the West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and York and North Yorkshire combined authorities.

The new Data Centre Covenant sets stringent tests for strategic projects that seek enhanced government support, covering community investment, energy costs, support for British industry and jobs, and national security. In the speech, Healey framed it as a deal: data centres that invest locally, create jobs and protect water supplies get the grid connections they need and, where necessary, permission to build onsite generation while they wait. He tied it to keeping NHS and armed forces AI data in the UK.

Why it matters

Grid connection delays are one of the main constraints on new data centres in Britain, so a formal route to faster connections in exchange for conditions is a significant change for operators. The £40 million incident capability is also notable because it treats failures by autonomous agents as a category of national security incident. The speech separately said the government is investing in AI for Civil Service transformation to support a further £600 million of back-office savings, and launching a review of NHS productivity and AI. This adds to the UK's recent biosecurity work covered in AI Policy & Regulation.

What to watch next

The Budget documents do not yet say how the covenant tests will be measured, who will assess them or whether legislation is needed. The new AI Challenge Prize for public services and the Union Learning Fund support for workers also need details. The spending profile across years is not stated in the release.

What changed

BeforeUK AI security and sovereign AI spending ran on earlier allocations, and data centres had no formal deal on grid access
AfterA £700 million AI package adds £120 million for AISI, £40 million for agentic incident response and £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit, plus a Data Centre Covenant
Who it affectsUK AI companies, data centre developers, the AI Security Institute and public bodies adopting AI

Questions people ask

How much AI funding is in the UK Budget 2026?
HM Treasury puts the AI package at £700 million, including £120 million more for the AI Security Institute, £40 million for agentic incident response and £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit.
What is the UK Data Centre Covenant?
A set of tests on community investment, energy costs, British jobs and national security that strategic data centre projects must meet to get enhanced government support, including grid connections.
What is the agentic security incident capability?
HM Treasury describes it as a world-first national capability to investigate and respond to security incidents involving AI agents, funded with £40 million. Its host body is not stated.

Sources

  1. Budget 2026: Breathing space for today, hope for the future (HM Treasury, 28 Oct 2026)
  2. Budget 2026 speech (HM Treasury, 28 Oct 2026)
  3. Budget 2026 document (HM Treasury, 28 Oct 2026)

Reference pages

Spotted an error? See the corrections policy and tell the editor. Facts in this story come from the sources listed above; vendor claims are attributed.

Comments

Loading comments.

No links, no insults; comments that break the rules are not published. 0/1000