n8n releases 3.0 beta with breaking changes and drops npm installs, stable due in December
n8n released the 3.0.0 beta of its workflow platform on 27 October 2026, with safer defaults, Docker-only self-hosting and a stable build due in December.
By Berkant A.Published
Tech AI Latestn8n released version 3.0.0 as a beta on 27 October 2026 and plans the stable release for early December. The major version collects breaking changes: legacy nodes are removed, security defaults are stricter, the default Code node timeout drops from 5 minutes to 1 minute, and self-hosted installs must run on Docker instead of npm. A Migration Report in version 2.39 and later lists affected workflows. The 2.x line gets security fixes for 12 months after the stable release.
Key facts
- Announced: 27 October 2026 (n8n blog and GitHub release n8n@3.0.0)
- Beta: available now for self-hosted and n8n Cloud; stable 3.x due in early December 2026
- Support: 2.x gets security and critical bug fixes for 12 months after the stable release; 1.x support ends 31 December 2026
- Self-hosting: Docker only; npm and npx installs are no longer supported; Kubernetes and Helm are not affected
- Upgrade: one way, with no rollback to 2.x except by restoring a backup
- Pricing changes: not stated in the announcement
What n8n announced
n8n released version 3.0.0 as a beta on 27 October 2026 and said the stable release will follow in early December. The company follows semantic versioning, so it only ships breaking changes with a new major version. It says 3.0 gathers a year of such changes into one release and focuses on reliability, stability and security rather than new features. Since 2.0 shipped in December 2025, n8n says it has published over 45 releases, roughly one a week.
The beta is open without sign-up. Self-hosted users install it like any other beta release, and n8n Cloud customers can pick 3.0.0 Beta when changing their version. The upgrade is one way: n8n says there is no path back to 2.x other than restoring a full backup. The matching GitHub pre-release, tagged n8n@3.0.0, also lists new agent features, including Microsoft Foundry model deployments in the Agent Builder and a Microsoft Teams channel for agents.
What changes for teams running n8n
In queue mode, manual executions now always run on workers instead of the main instance. The in-memory binary data mode is removed, so instances store binary data on the filesystem, S3 or other external storage. The default Code node timeout falls from 5 minutes to 1 minute and remains configurable, and decompression limits are lower to block oversized archives. The old Cron and Interval nodes give way to the Schedule Trigger.
Security defaults are tighter. Encryption key rotation is always on, Slack credentials need a signing secret, the default block list for server-side request forgery is larger when that protection is enabled, and unverified community packages are off by default. Self-hosted n8n now runs on Docker only, because new security features depend on a container setup; n8n offers a one-line setup script for people who used npx n8n. Legacy nodes such as Function, Function Item, Item Lists and the old OpenAI node are removed, many with automatic migration. Chat Hub is off by default, and the Ask AI tab leaves the Code node.
To prepare, every instance on 2.39 or later has a Migration Report under Settings. It lists affected workflows and settings, fixes many issues automatically as new workflow versions, suggests an owner for each workflow, emails owners and exports a CSV. n8n recommends updating to the latest 2.x, clearing the report, taking a backup and upgrading a staging instance before production.
Why it matters
n8n says the upgrade itself needs only a short restart, and credentials and execution history carry over. Most of the work falls on self-hosting teams. Anyone still installing through npm has to move to containers, and long-running Code node jobs that relied on the 5-minute default will start failing unless the limit is raised. The removal of in-memory binary storage and the Docker requirement also point the product toward larger, multi-worker deployments rather than single laptop installs.
The support dates set a clear deadline. Teams on 1.x have about two months before support ends and cannot jump straight to 3.x, so they face two upgrades in a row. n8n also reports growth since 2.0: GitHub stars rose from about 160,000 to over 208,000, and forum members from 115,192 to over 183,000.
What to watch next
The exact date of the stable release is not stated beyond early December 2026. Watch the release notes for changes made during the beta, and for how many workflows the Migration Report can fix without manual work. More workflow tool news is collected under AI Automation.
What changed
| Before | n8n 2.x with npm and npx installs, in-memory binary data mode, a 5-minute default Code node timeout and legacy nodes such as Function, Cron and Interval |
|---|---|
| After | n8n 3.0 beta with Docker-only self-hosting, external binary storage, a 1-minute default Code node timeout, stricter security defaults and the legacy nodes removed |
| Who it affects | Self-hosted n8n operators, n8n Cloud customers planning upgrades, workflow builders using legacy nodes, and teams still on 1.x |
Questions people ask
- When is the stable n8n 3.0 release?
- n8n says the stable 3.x release follows in early December 2026. The 3.0.0 beta has been available since 27 October 2026.
- Can I still install n8n with npm?
- Not from 3.0. n8n says self-hosted n8n now runs on Docker and that npm or npx installs are no longer supported. Kubernetes and Helm deployments are not affected.
- How long will n8n 2.x be supported?
- After the stable 3.0 release, 2.x gets security and critical bug fixes for 12 months. Support for 1.x ends on 31 December 2026.
- Can I roll back from n8n 3.0 to 2.x?
- No. n8n says the upgrade is one way and recommends a full backup first, because going back means restoring it.
Sources
- Introducing n8n v3 (n8n, 27 Oct 2026)
- Release n8n@3.0.0 (n8n on GitHub, 27 Oct 2026)
Reference pages
- n8n company
Spotted an error? See the corrections policy and tell the editor. Facts in this story come from the sources listed above; vendor claims are attributed.
Comments
Loading comments.





