OpenAI adds computer use to its Agents API with a hosted browser and sign-in flow
OpenAI added computer use to its Agents API on 29 September 2026. Agents work in an OpenAI-hosted browser, and apps approve each website and handle sign-in.
By Emre AlemdarPublished
Tech AI LatestOpenAI added computer use to its Agents API on 29 September 2026, three weeks after the API entered public beta. Agents complete tasks in an OpenAI-hosted browser, while the developer's application approves every new website origin and collects sign-in details outside the model's input. Sign-in supports email, passwords and verification codes but not passkeys. A separate computer use charge is not stated in the announcement; sandbox compute has been billed only during active turns since 9 October.
Key facts
- Announced: 29 September 2026 (OpenAI API changelog)
- Where it runs: an OpenAI-hosted browser inside the Agents API sandbox, enabled with the
computer_usetool - Approvals: the user must approve each new website origin, including public sites; enabling network access does not approve them
- Sign-in: email, password and verification code fields; no passkeys or QR codes; requests expire after five minutes
- Billing: sandbox compute billed only during active turns from 9 October 2026; a separate computer use price is not stated in the announcement
What OpenAI announced
OpenAI added computer use to the Agents API on 29 September 2026, the day of its DevDay event. The changelog entry says agents can complete tasks in an OpenAI-hosted browser, with website access approvals and sign-in handled by the developer's application. The Agents API itself entered public beta on 10 September 2026 as a managed Codex harness in which OpenAI runs session orchestration, context compaction and recovery.
The computer use guide describes the setup. A developer adds the computer_use tool to the agent, sets the environment type to openai_hosted and enables the desktop. The agent then navigates sites and uses what it sees in the browser to choose its next step. Browser actions appear as computer_use_call items in the session output, and screenshots are left out of API output unless include_screenshots is set. The guide's examples use GPT-6 Astra.
How approvals and sign-in work
The browser asks for the user's approval before it opens each new website origin, public sites included, and turning on network access does not count as approval. Only the main agent can request sign-in, not subagents. When it does, the application renders a form from the request's fields and sends the values through a dedicated event. OpenAI says those values stay outside the model's input and are left out of session history. The flow supports email addresses, passwords and verification codes, but not passkeys or QR-code sign-in. Each submission can carry up to six field values, and an authentication request expires after five minutes.
The guide also sets limits on what developers should trust. Website content is to be treated as untrusted and cannot grant permission. OpenAI notes that asking for confirmation through a function tool depends on the agent choosing to call it, so an app that must guarantee a check before purchases or destructive changes should restrict the hosted browser or use a browser runtime it controls.
Why it matters
With the Responses API computer tool, OpenAI's general computer use guide says the developer's application supplies a driver that performs each action and owns the session, permissions and cleanup, or connects a partner environment such as Browserbase, Browser Use, Daytona or E2B. The Agents API moves the browser into OpenAI's sandbox, so a developer no longer runs the screen, but still owns the two decisions that carry the most risk: which sites the agent may open and which credentials it may use. The design keeps passwords out of the model's context, which addresses one of the most common concerns about browser agents. It also shows where OpenAI draws the line on guarantees: a function-tool confirmation is not treated as a hard control.
What to watch next
The Agents API is still in beta, and the changelog gives no date for general availability. OpenAI changed sandbox billing on 9 October so that idle time between turns is no longer charged, and added pre-warmed sandboxes the same day. A separate price for computer use is not stated in the announcement. More coverage of browser and desktop agents is collected under AI Agents.
What changed
| Before | The Agents API (public beta since 10 September 2026) ran agents in sandboxes with code, files and connected tools, but without a hosted browser |
|---|---|
| After | Agents can operate an OpenAI-hosted browser, with per-origin approvals and an application-run sign-in flow that keeps credentials out of the model input |
| Who it affects | Developers building browser agents on the OpenAI API, and teams that need agents to use websites without APIs |
Questions people ask
- How do you enable computer use in the OpenAI Agents API?
- Add the
computer_usetool to the agent, setenvironment.typetoopenai_hostedand setenvironment.desktop.enabledto true, according to OpenAI's guide. - Does the model see the passwords users enter?
- OpenAI says values submitted through the browser authentication event stay outside the agent's model input and are omitted from session history.
- Does the hosted browser support passkeys?
- No. The guide says sign-in supports email addresses, passwords and verification codes, but not passkeys or QR-code sign-in.
Sources
- API changelog: computer use in the Agents API (OpenAI, 29 Sep 2026)
- Computer use (Agents API guide) (OpenAI, 29 Sep 2026)
- Computer use (Responses API guide) (OpenAI, 28 Oct 2026)
Reference pages
- OpenAI company
Spotted an error? See the corrections policy and tell the editor. Facts in this story come from the sources listed above; vendor claims are attributed.
Comments
Loading comments.





